TE410E/TE610E ignition CDI - Help & Info

Discussion in 'Older Single cams' started by NoMad410, Mar 31, 2014.

1. NoMad410 Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE410 E
    Introduction:

I'm new to Huskies and off-road, and enjoying very much, but recently one morning, for no immediately obvious reason, my TE410E refused to start. I found there was no spark, and tracing back I realised just how much at the mercy of the electrics we are!

I need to sort out this problem quickly, and reading through various forums I see I am not the only one who's got it. It does not help that the TE410/610 etc workshop manual is pretty useless when it comes to the electrics.

This stuff should be really simple, it's not rocket science, but so far I have found the going a bit tough, and feel hostage to the electrics and its purveyors! :D

So, I thought that a thread providing some definitive answers to the problems of early Husky 410e/610E ignitions (specially CDIs) is just what is needed. I am no expert in the subject, just learning as I go along. However. I have already found quite a bit of information, and also lots of threads where people are looking for that same information. So I'm collecting it all here. If you are knowledgeable, please do help!

I think the ideal would be to have a good alternative to the current CDI solutions at the end of this, or perhaps even an "open source" CDI design that anyone can use. Perhaps for other models too. For instance, I have seen people claim on other threads (I must start saving those links) that the Lifan 150 CDI can be adapted, though I do not know how yet - here's hoping! A solution like this would be brilliant and probably cost a fifth of the current prices asked on fleabay for CDIs. Even designing a clone CDI shouldn't be impossible. From what I've understood so far, it is not a PIC type and probably just an old thyristor design. Just a case of finding out what wire to plug where...