1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

te310r fork oil change.

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by 310 newb, Sep 2, 2018.

1. 310 newb Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    te310r
    Other Motorcycles:
    cbr900rr
    Ok, so the workshop manual isn't too comprehensive,, Im planning to just undo the top-nut, leave them upside down to drain in an oil pan or measuring jug overnight, and then top up to the specified level with Belray 2.5w (the only 2.5w oil i could find).
    Any problems with this plan? I have never done this job before so dont know what to expect.
    The whole idea of doing it is the stock forks are too hard for my 80kg arse - no sag at all with my body weight.
    Or should i be changing springs?
    And is it worth changing the seals too? the ones on there seem fine and i would need speciality tools to do this?
    Thanks in advance
  2. Huskynoobee CH Sponsor ZipTy Racing

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2011 TE449 2006 WR250
    Other Motorcycles:
    HDUltra Classic IT200 YZ250 SV650s
    Dumping the oil that way is fine. Sounds like you're on to something with the spring rate. Oil will only make a difference as it runs through the piston and shim stacks. Did you buy the bike used? If so then who knows what rate they are but you may find it engraved on the end coil.

If you're just experimenting then no need to worry about seals but if you're not sure how old that stuff in there is its cheap insurance to change out seals, bushings, o rings etc.
    310 newb likes this.
  3. ghte Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2 x 310's, 2016 Beta 480, SWM RS650
    Other Motorcycles:
    2016 Multi ,Griso1100, Monster695
    Unless the previous owner put in heavier springs then your weight is ideal for this bike in stock trim.
    I would flush the forks before putting the new fork oil in as there will be gunk on the bottom.