1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

Please help with 2010 te450. Cuts out when idling and backfires/pops

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by Phil da swede, Jul 20, 2016.

1. Phil da swede Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2010 TE 450
    Other Motorcycles:
    None
    Hi guys. This is my first post to the forum. I'm a noob poster, bike rider and mechanic. I Bought my first bike a couple of months ago. I think I bought a good bike, the guy I bought it off seems to have looked after it really well.
    Bought it with 3800ks on it. Now it has 4600ks.

I'm determent service and fix it myself as much as possible. It's been running fine until a few weeks ago.
    It started backfiring a lot when dropping the throttle. It also cuts out when it's idling, hot and cold.

I have to mention that I changed the fuel tank back to the stock standard one, changed engine oil + cleaned filters and cleaned and re oiled the air filter ( saying this because I think the problems started occurring or at least got worse after this)
    Since I changed the fuel tank over I started smelling a burnt plastic/electrical smell from the front of the bike.
    Just when idling too, not just driving. I have had the bike running with the tank lifted off to try and locate the smell but without success.

I have driven it in wet conditions and dropped it in puddles a few times too.

I googled the shit out of it and asked anyone who knew more than I do.
    I have done what I can:

So far I have:
    Adjusted valves ( not sure it needed it but just
    in case)
    Cleaned out the fuel tank
    Changed the fuel filter inside the tank
    Cleaned the injector, there was some green wire casing looking material in there.
    Cleaned the air filter again, there was a bit of engine oil in the box.
    Checked all(I think) wiring for damage, rubbing or burn.