1. 2 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    WR = 2st Enduro & CR = 2st Cross

125-200cc Part 2: Installation of the WB165 Kit

Discussion in '2 Stroke' started by MattR, Apr 2, 2012.

1. MattR 2T Forum Clerk

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WB165, SM610
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yamaha FZ1
    Part 2: Installation of the WB165 Kit

Background:
    I have a 2008 CR125. In this “how-to”, I will walk through the steps that I took during installation of my WB165 Kit. It should be applicable to other model years as well. As I mentioned in Part 1 (Teardown), this is my first time doing a top end. Walt (Wallybean) gave me some tips to help out along the way. I decided to write up the process to help other first-timers out. For all of the top end gurus, please add comments if I left something out or you have any other tricks you want to share. Thanks!

This thread does contain a lot of pictures. I hope the download speed is not too bad for some users.
  2. MattR 2T Forum Clerk

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WB165, SM610
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yamaha FZ1
    What's makes this kit special:

Before we begin, I wanted to show a comparison between the OE 125cc piston and WB165cc piston.

[IMG]

[IMG]

[IMG]
  3. MattR 2T Forum Clerk

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WB165, SM610
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yamaha FZ1
    Here is a picture of the 125cc piston in the new 165cc cylinder bore.

[IMG]
  4. MattR 2T Forum Clerk

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WB165, SM610
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yamaha FZ1
    Here are pictures of the 165cc cylinder work:

[IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]

The 2008 cylinder needs welded reinforcement at rear of cylinder. This is done as part of the kit.

[IMG]
  5. MattR 2T Forum Clerk

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WB165, SM610
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yamaha FZ1
    Here is a picture of the cylinder head:

[IMG]
  6. MattR 2T Forum Clerk

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WB165, SM610
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yamaha FZ1