1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

Noob ATV harescramble racer converting to dirtbikes.

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by airmobile101, Feb 29, 2012.

1. airmobile101 Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2011 TXC250
    Other Motorcycles:
    KTM/YAMAHA/HONDA
    Hello everyone, my name is Tim. And I'm pretty much new to dirt bikes period! My total hours on a dirt bike my entire life is under a hour! lol Im a 38 year old man thats 5',6",but...... I am a quite capable of racing atv's since I have been doing it for 6 years. But....... with the economy the way it is, I feel its time for change in a large way. And that brought me to travel to a local BMW dealer and purchase a 2011 Husky TXC250i. Now, I know dirtbikes and ATV's are two different breeds in handling and sorts. But I think I gonna need some help just with basic setup from all of you. I will take any advise and go with it! Now......... I don't plan on racing this Husky until I feel I can handle it to a certain degree. To give you a idea, I left all the restrictions on it including the half throttle screw just for the simple fact I don't want to kill myself! But, I have got a FMF S/O enroute with a JD tuner. But I will not install that stuff until I feel comfortable.

So, I have a few questions. Yes....... I searched. But no defining answer. First and foremost. The seat height! What is the proper way to lower this thing? Link? Shave the seat? Shock work? Naturally, I haven't set the sag yet,but once thats done, I seriously doubt thats gonna resolve my issue. And I have zero issues tossing some coin at the suspension. Think about it, I spend about $1500.00 to set up my KTM 450XC quad, so money isn't a issue. And no........ I not rich either.