New guy , old question can chain tensioner info !

Discussion in '610/630' started by Webbo610sm, Jul 31, 2014.

1. Webbo610sm Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2008 sm610ie
    Other Motorcycles:
    Gsxr 750 k6
    Hi all

I'm new to the husky world and have just picked up a 08 sm610ie bikes in pretty great shape with only 4k on it but I have heard a creaking cracking type noise when the bikes under heavy load , for example a hard acceleration in too high of a gear ,I can only assume it's engine or drive train related my other theory is my floating rear disc causing it ?! It's my first single just come from an 06 gsxr 750 ! Have scared myself googling seeing a lot about the cam chains needing replacing so I thought it best to check the clicks on my cct but for the life of me I can't see how to do it in the manual ... I work on BMW cars for a living and maybe am Over thinking this whole thing but if I were to remove a tensioner from a BMW I would ensure the timing was set and locked using timing tools as the timing turns when the tensioner is removed so does the engine need to be set to any specific position or is it a case off switch the engine off take out the centre bolt remove the spring remove the 8 mms count the notches reset to zero reinstall the tensioner and 8 mms reinstall the spring then the centre bolt ? Also heard people saying they can't get the centre bolt back with the spring etc any tips pics guides links to a guide or just any info on how to do it would be great if there's a guide I can't seem to find it have done numerous searchs so please forgive me if I've missed it ! I'm sure this would have been asked before !

Many thanks

Charlie
  2. Borgschulze Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2007 TE 610
    Other Motorcycles:
    2004 Yamaha WR450
    The guys who can't get the center bolt and spring back in are a little ham fisted...