Help Needed 96 TE 410

Discussion in 'Older Single cams' started by Garren, Jul 31, 2013.

1. Garren Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1996 Husqvarna TE 410
    Hey Guys!,

Hope this is in the right section of the forum (New here).
    As the title suggests I am in need of help for my 1996 Husqvarna TE410! I am new to this forum and have tried everything except this forum and taking it to the ever expensive mechanic! (I am a final year university student and cash is tight). This will be long winded but I TRUELY thank anyone for recommended tips/help!! I will give as much info as possible on the current situation.

Background Info:
    I purchased this husky as a project and when purchased had the general carby clogged problems but sorted with an ultra sonic cleaner. I stripped and rebuilt the engine myself (3rd bike ive done). I checked mechanical timing including valve clearence and was spot on! Replaced all top end gaskets and seals withOEM products. After rebuild I ran the bike standing with no reving and was running beautifully with no issues what so ever. After 5 mins of idling, i rode it (not hard) around the yard for 30mins. Once done i was on the way back to the house and the engine began to 'bog out'(lose power), stalled and followed by the largest back fire ive heard (exhaust backfire and slight carby backfire). Upon inspection of the engine and electrics I noticed a wire that was coming from the regulator which was exposed and i can only assume has shorted against the frame. I have rebuilt the carby enough times to know it blind folded as i originally thought that was the problem but i cant justify it as this happened out of the blue, which almost rules out most things, except the electrics.