1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Austria - About 2014 & Newer
    FE = 4st Enduro & FC = 4st Cross

FE/FC FE 501S rear shock set up

Discussion in '4st' started by Throttle on, Feb 19, 2017.

1. Throttle on Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2015 fe501s
    Other Motorcycles:
    08 Wr 250r 94Kx 500, Xr650r
    I am looking for some input on shock set up from folks that have experience with these WP suspensions. I have a 2015 Fe 501S with over 5000 miles now since I bought it new. I am now 165lbs. I am at the bottom end of the recommended rider weight for the stock springs. I am a Novice-intermediate desert/ fast trail rider. Friends half my age tell me I am fast. I mostly ride a lot of fast forest service dirt roads and rut/whoop infested trails here in Northern California. I mostly ride sitting far forward centered over the pegs unless the terrain or obstacles require a standing or attack position. I am new to WP suspension and Austrian bikes. My issue now is that the rear shock bucks or pogos over sharp edges and high speed travel hits more than Id like. I have my rider sag and fork height balanced and set proper. My Shock settings are as follows 9 clicks out rebound, 1.5 turns out high speed comp, 20 clicks out low speed compression. My questions are as follows: 1) Should I try a slightly softer shock spring like say a 5.6kg/mm.? 2) Am i a candidate for a custom revalve of my shock? On my next ride I was going to try a few more clicks out on the rebound. Not being familiar with these WP shocks I am wondering if I am already near the end of range of rebound adjustment at 9 clicks out. I have tried increasing the high speed comp with no luck. This really is a lack of rebound dampening issue. I have been thinking this shock is over sprung for my weight. A shock spring is 100$. A revalve is 5 times that. Of course my dealer recommends both! Any serious and knowledgeable input would be appreciated.
  2. octagon pilot Husqvarna
    AA Class