1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

Cheep quick throttle mod (449/511). You'll be amazed!

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by Thrasher, Aug 4, 2014.

1. Thrasher Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    '13 511
    Dangermouse asked me about this mod, so here it is...
    Feel free to figure out a better way to do this. If you do... Share!

Remember... the main reason you don't hold your throttle wide open more often isn't because your bike is too powerful, it's because you're hyperflexed wrist is too weak to control the bike for more than a couple seconds. Solve the hyper flexion and you'll hold the throttle wide open more often and longer.

Disclaimer: Not responsible for damage, injury or death if you decide to try this mod.
    And… I’m not an engineer of any kind (actually, I’m a hack!)

The goal is increase the diameter of the throttle tube where the throttle cables ride. This increases the length of pull as a proportion of the distance the throttle is turned. Increase the diameter, but not so much that it won’t fit into the stock throttle housing.

I don’t remember why right now, but I know I had to remove the throttle stop inside of the throttle housing (used a small file, I think) in order to make the mod work. The little “bump” got in the way of the grommet, I think.

I used a trimmed rubber grommet. It isn’t glued or otherwise attached to the throttle tube. It just sits on top of it. The tension of the cable, the channel on top of the grommet and the stock throttle housing keep it in place. The throttle cables have to be loosened prior to installation, then, adjusted afterward. Lubricate well.

Steps:
    1. Prep grommet. Split and trim as needed to produce a shallow cable channel.
    3. Loosen throttle cable adjustments (both)
    4. Open the throttle housing.
    5. Remove throttle stop inside the throttle housing.