1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

Changing wheel bearings. First time, few Questions...

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by bensl, Jun 10, 2014.

1. bensl Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    te610, te310
    Other Motorcycles:
    ducati diavel
    i went for a ride this weekend and noticed a bit of play in my rear wheel so decided it was time to do the bearings. i have never done this before so this is all a bit of a learning experience...

i popped the wheel off and removed the seals and the first thing i noticed was the spacer inside the hub could be moved very easily with my finger. it was really sloppy. is this normal?

i knocked the bearings out (eventually) and noticed a bit of scoring on the spacer and a few marks/notches on the hub itself. im not sure if these were there already or i caused them trying to remove the bearings. anyway, just wondering if anyone thinks they will be an issue?
    [IMG]
    [IMG]

also, the spacer itself looks different to that in the manual. this one has a lip on it and when it fell out of the wheel i didn't see which way its supposed to go back in? any ideas?
    [IMG]

also, thoughts on packing more grease in sealed bearings? from reading some say yes, and others say no. very confusing.

thanks for your help.

edit: bike is a 2012 te310
  2. OlderHuskyRider Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2010 TE 450 - last of the ITA motors
    Other Motorcycles:
    Kwaka KLE, HD FXDWG
    The spacer should be move-able, but not sloppy left to right. It should fit in between the bearings with no play side-to-side. The spacer allows the axle to be tightened and the bearings not move.

The scoring is odd but shouldn't be an issue, the bearings will slide in and never really move against that surface.

The lip is odd as well, my only guess would be that it goes on the side that the axle enters the wheel from.