Been Kicking For A Week Now - Still No Start!! 01 Te570

Discussion in 'Older Single cams' started by Franz28, Nov 29, 2020.

1. Franz28 Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    te570 2001
    Other Motorcycles:
    vfr750,xr500,zxr400,vulcan750, 900
    Hi guys - first post here!
    So i bought a 01 TE 570 a few yrs back and its been standing in storage overseas. Ive been working on it past week - now down to either the auto decomp mechanism (im new to that) and/or a carb issue (which i doubt). I do own a shop and am a full time mechanic and been working on my bikes for 15 years, so fairly competent but this is my first dirt bike in 30 years :)

I have glued in the magnets which were out of sync- stripped and cleaned carb.. i have strong blue spark too but for some reason she just wont start!! now and then I get a "whirrr" or a pop or a kick back. Last week she ran once for 30s (had no fuel source - just a hose). but she was def rich (sticking needle which i fixed).. as good and clean as everything else is i know she has to start ALOT easier!

Been seeing mixed methods on starting cold (its about 70-80 degrees here - not very cold either).. Ive tried (and will try more starting methods) - but wondering if the auto decomp can cause starting issues? I saw that when I had the valve cover off - the manual doesnt cover it, can someone describe how to set it up/verify its working correctly?

I have had the kicker thru my tall work boot on two occasions, so much so that im now quite afraid of this thing - seriously!!
  2. Franz28 Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    te570 2001
    Other Motorcycles:
    is it possible to remove the auto decomp and see how/if it runs any better and use the manual lever?
  3. 2premo Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    98 WR360, 1987 WR430, 1988 XC430
    Other Motorcycles:
    Sherco 300, 2002 KTM 380EXC
    if anything doesn't start after 5 kicks, you are either in it for the exercise or the masochism of mechanical abuse