1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

86' WR 400 piston needed

Discussion in 'Vintage/Left Kickers' started by Ventabular, Mar 29, 2022.

1. Ventabular Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    86' WR 400
    Other Motorcycles:
    18' KTM250TPI, 14' YZ250, 03' KTM200
    1st, let me introduce myself. My name is Jim Lundgren. I am a retired electrician,
    66 years old. I have been sporadically involved with off-road motorcycles since 1971.
    I am a casual trail rider here in the Pacific N.W.
    I have been repairing motorcycles for the las 12 years. Mainly, IT Yamahas of every displacement,
    and RMX 250 Suzuki's. I once owned a 78' 390 auto that was troublesome, and at the time I was too
    stupid, and broke to maintain it. But I have fond memories of how it handled. I ended up frying it in the dunes after spending a lot of money on the transmission! I no longer go there!
    So recently, I bought an 86' WR 400 for $1600 that started on the first kick, and seemed to run well. None the less, my past experience, and a little birdie, told me to tear it down for a look-see.
    What I found was that the piston had been seized, and is in need of the next oversize re-bore.
    The piston is an 82.92mm Mahle, in a worn 83mm bore. The reason for the seize was obvious. The P.O. had slobbered the head gasket with silicone goober so much that the water passages were effectively blocked. So, long story short, I'm needing a piston for the next size (assume) 83.5 bore. What my problem is that I can't find one! Can anybody steer me in the right direction?
  2. 86 400 XC Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    75,82,83,2x84,85,3x86,87,88 and 89
    Other Motorcycles:
    more Huskys
    steadydirt and Ventabular like this.
  3. Ventabular Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    86' WR 400
    Other Motorcycles:
    18' KTM250TPI, 14' YZ250, 03' KTM200