1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Austria - About 2014 & Newer
    FE = 4st Enduro & FC = 4st Cross

FE/FC 501 Down With Electrical Problems

Discussion in '4st' started by Dirtdame, Jul 25, 2018.

  1. Dirtdame Administrator

    Location:
    Escondido, California
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    07 TE450,11 WR300,13 WR125,18 FE501
    Other Motorcycles:
    KDX200,Hodaka100,MV Agusta Brutale
    The bike had been running good for the first 500 miles, but started to cut out and stall on last Sunday's ride. Mostly happened on tight, bumpy trails. The bike ran perfectly on the pavement, so I suspect that there might be a bad connection or a loose wire somewhere. Since it's under warranty, I dropped it off at the dealership. I can't wait to get it back and install my new Guts Racing saddle on it. It's got standard height soft foam, which is what I run on all my other Husqvarnas, and they are very comfy. This Seat Concepts saddle is literally giving me a butt ache!:(
    [IMG]
    Trenchcoat85 likes this.
  2. Huskynoobee CH Sponsor ZipTy Racing

    Location:
    Castaic, CA
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2011 TE449 2006 WR250
    Other Motorcycles:
    HDUltra Classic IT200 YZ250 SV650s
    Sorry to hear that. Not supposed to have problems when you drop that kinda cash on a bike. But glad to hear your dealer gets to fix it.
  3. Dirtdame Administrator

    Location:
    Escondido, California
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    07 TE450,11 WR300,13 WR125,18 FE501
    Other Motorcycles:
    KDX200,Hodaka100,MV Agusta Brutale
    Not sure how great a job they are going to be able to do. The bike has been there all week, and they have been trying to replicate the symptoms, but the bike won't fail for them. They did tell me that an ignition coil fault code was thrown from the day that I had problems. All I can say is that somebody better be able to find and fix the problem. Looks like I'm stuck with the old Italian model until they do.
  4. Johnrg Contributing Member

    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2013 TE 310 R
    Other Motorcycles:
    Ducati Sport Classic / Ducati Multi.
    Bummer.... That would chap my hide.
  5. Huskynoobee CH Sponsor ZipTy Racing

    Location:
    Castaic, CA
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2011 TE449 2006 WR250
    Other Motorcycles:
    HDUltra Classic IT200 YZ250 SV650s
    Well at least it's documented. Being street legal I would hope lemon law applies. Never heard it used on a bike though.
  6. robertaccio Contributing Member

    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2017 TX300
    Other Motorcycles:
    92BetaZero260, 01YamahaYZ125
    Do the 4stroke models have the stator wire harness to rotor chafe issue?
    My 300 had a slight cut in the harness from new but I nipped it in the bud, with the Slavens fix of epoxy and pressing the harness against the engine case to glue it down to clear the spinning ignition rotor.
    Dirtdame likes this.
  7. Johnrg Contributing Member

    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2013 TE 310 R
    Other Motorcycles:
    Ducati Sport Classic / Ducati Multi.
    I think basically it is a matter of the dealer unable to fix it. Probably like the 3 strike rule I use. If they fail to remedy on 3rd try, they buy it back. Fortunately Michael and Zip Ty steered me in the right direction to sort it when I had the issues with my '13.
    Dirtdame likes this.
  8. Dirtdame Administrator

    Location:
    Escondido, California
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    07 TE450,11 WR300,13 WR125,18 FE501
    Other Motorcycles:
    KDX200,Hodaka100,MV Agusta Brutale
    I got the bike back from the dealership this evening. Looks like a loose ignition coil ground wire was the culprit.
  9. Huskynoobee CH Sponsor ZipTy Racing

    Location:
    Castaic, CA
    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2011 TE449 2006 WR250
    Other Motorcycles:
    HDUltra Classic IT200 YZ250 SV650s
    Makes sense. Now go ride and take pics for us!
    Dirtdame likes this.
  10. Citti34 Husqvarna
    C Class

    Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2018 501 FE
    I have a similar issue. Can someone tell me where the ground is?