2008 SMR510 stalling then no power

Discussion in 'Super Moto' started by Juicebox, Aug 31, 2016.

1. Juicebox Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2006 TE610
    I am brand new to supermotos and Huskys. Just traded my R6 for an 08 SMR510. Love the bike. It seems that after like 45 minutes of riding that it starts to sputter like it is running out of gas. I thought I had barely limped into a gas station and come to find out that I only needed a gallon to top off. I start the bike up again and within 5 minutes it starts doing it again until it stalls out coming up to an intersection.

When it died, I lost all power. When I turned the key, the dash did not light up and the fuel pump did not prime. However, when I turned the key back off, the dash powered on briefly and read 4554 ie 36 and then powered back off.

I checked the fuses in the starter relay, and the 3 on the brake side under the seat. They all check good. Battery terminals are clean. Not sure what to check next. But I d/l the workshop manual and I guess I'll just start from the battery and start testing components with a multimeter for now.

Steve
    Greenbelt, MD, USA
  2. 268fords Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    08' TE510'
    Other Motorcycles:
    Honda CRF 100, Kawasaki KLX 110
    Do you have a dealership near by that has Ibeat?
  3. Trenchcoat85 Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    '14 TE 310R
    Other Motorcycles:
    '85 shovel, '75 DT400, '97 XR400
    measure your battery voltage (& then charge your battery?). measure the voltage of the bike running and a charged battery.

I'm thinking your charging system is suspect.
  4. Juicebox Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2006 TE610
    Yeah, I'm thinking maybe along the lines of the stator. I took my battery off the bike and tried to charge it. This was a battery purchased a few weeks ago by the previous owner. Battery is dead dead. Like neutral indicator light is flickering kinda dead.