1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

1983 500 CR Project

Discussion in 'Vintage Restoration Projects' started by Sutphin, Jan 30, 2013.

?

Paint or Powder Coat??

Poll closed Feb 6, 2013.
Paint 2 vote(s) 22.2%
Powder Coat 7 vote(s) 77.8%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Sutphin Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1983 500 CR
    Other Motorcycles:
    1973 360 MX
    I have been hauling this beast around for the last 15 years. And for the last 15 years I have been telling people what a find it was and how lucky I was to have it. Decided to start the project about
    3 weeks ago. Motor in a crate next to the bike. The good thing (if there is a good thing...)
    paid $100 bucks for it 15 years ago. Maybe I over paid, not sure yet..going to need lots of TLC
    and all...all... and then some of my beer money. Oh well..

Got it all tore down..ready to take some parts for paint, frame & swing arm to start.

Question: Paint or Powder Coat??? Have always painted. Hear powder is pretty nice . IMG_0265.JPG IMG_0271.JPG IMG_0276.JPG View attachment 22811 I am going to ride her.

I am looking for a left case cover (clutch side) Could use a hand finding one. Thanks. Scott
  2. ruwfo Administrator

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1980 390CR, 1982 430CR, 1984 400WR
    Other Motorcycles:
    1985 250XC, 2016 FJ-09
    Scott,
    Is it a late 83 or an 84? , i see a plastic tank, cause finding a 83 tank maybe as hard a finding a decent side case :eek:.
    Good thing is either tank work on that frame. I won't worry about either at the moment, get it cleaned up & look into
    what shape the motors in.
    As far as powder coating, it's great, just make sure you tell the power coater you need the motor mount holes
    & coil mounting location masked or you'll never get a decent electrical ground.

Husky John
  3. Sutphin Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1983 500 CR
    Other Motorcycles:
    1973 360 MX
    Hey John,