1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

1974 400WR Ignition

Discussion in 'Vintage Restoration Projects' started by jack topper, Sep 25, 2016.

1. jack topper Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1974 400WR
    Other Motorcycles:
    honda, yamaha, suzuki, Indian, Kawas
    Hi folks! I'm new to this forum - all forums, really - so I hope you canl bear with me.

I've been carrying this 400 around for 38 years and have decided to put it back to running condition now that I'm about to retire. It has a Femsa magneto and Bosch coil; no kill button. I don't remember how it was wired, but the black lead is original, short, and has a terminal lug on it. It looked like a ground to me, so that's where I put it. The white lead in the photo is coming from the magneto. I was able to find some stranded copper cored bumblebee wire, and temporarily put a resistor-type NGK plug cap on it until I can get a non-resistor version. I do get a spark when I kick it over, but it seems weak and somewhat red in color. Have I got it wrong somehow? Any wisdom or advice would be very welcome!

Now if I can just figure out how to upload the photo!
  2. jack topper Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1974 400WR
    Other Motorcycles:
    Here's the photo...

Attached Files:

3. suprize Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WR 400, bike in a box Moto Villa 350
    Other Motorcycles:
    ktm 300
    38 years!!! well done...sorry cant help with the sparks... keep the story on the bike going tho:popcorn:
  4. stormer254 Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    More than I dare let her know
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yes!
    Fit a new condenser, a car one is fine, fit up by the coil it reduce the heat and vibration.
    SteveJ likes this.
  5. SteveJ Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1970 400 Cross, 1983 500 CR
    Other Motorcycles:
    84 Honda CR500R, 81 Honda CBX,