‘08 610sm Solenoid replacement.

Discussion in '610/630' started by Muddy Waters, Oct 7, 2018.

1. Muddy Waters Husqvarna
    AA Class

I’ve narrowed down my ‘08 610sm starting issue to the solenoid.
    It’s the OEM unit # MS5F-701 12V 75N (made in Japan) with two 20a fuses (which according to the parts catalog # 8000 91115 should come with two 15a fuses ?).
    Google search brings only some $14 solenoid units for Yamaha bikes that looks the same but have two 30a fuses in them.
    Did anyone here went with anything other then the $60 OEM unit from the catalog?

7DEC7473-62C5-4BCD-8F5F-2CE019883FE3.jpeg
  2. Muddy Waters Husqvarna
    AA Class

Nobody ever had to replace these?
  3. mg94 Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    SM610S
    Other Motorcycles:
    XT600
    How about buying that and then changing the fuses? ;) They're made to be easily replaced
    Muddy Waters likes this.
  4. Muddy Waters Husqvarna
    AA Class

Indeed they are.
    I have zero knowledge in solenoids and I didn't see any spec sheet for the OEM and the Yamaha units to compare between the two, that's why I've asked.
    I don't want to create a bigger problem, so you say it's as easy as buying a solenoid unit that looks the same and just replacing the fuses?
  5. Muddy Waters Husqvarna
    AA Class

Ok, got the Yamaha solenoid for $7.80 on Amazon (the one for their big 4-wheelers).
    Changed the fuses on it to the 20a from my old one and also switched the rubber retainer band from the old OEM solenoid to the new one for the right orientation.
    The 610 coughed to life, worked for a little and then stopped.
    Tried it few more times and it does the same, cranks, work perfect for about 10 seconds and stops on its own.
    I guess the next step is to check the fuel filter?
    0A3407B3-B8F9-49BF-ADBF-63B530D10D9A.jpeg
  6. mg94 Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    SM610S
    Other Motorcycles:
    XT600