Wrench Logo on dash -- Engine sputtering issue

Discussion in 'TR650' started by Russell Ph, Mar 28, 2016.

1. Russell Ph Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2013/2014 TR650 Strada
    Hello Husketeers!

I just got myself a TR650 Strada 2013/14 model

I have a huge issue but I wanna give you a little background first as it may help answer my questions...

It has some cool upgrades bought it from a nice guy in Manila Philippines. He is a bit of novice rider but managed to put 10,000 km on it. I can tell he is a novice rider because of his trips and his stories. I have been riding for over 15 years and it comes down to my gut. Anyhow long story short novice highway miles on this bike. This bike was imported from Italy.

I buy the bike and need to ride it home (4 hours away). For those of you who don't know Manila it is like New York City x 1000 as far as traffic and heat goes.

I got on the bike and have done by research so I know some of the common problems with the computer and stalling and etc.

I was in this crazy hot traffic for about 2 hours and right towards the end of it (after i was dying of near heat stroke and sunburn) the bike starts to sputter really badly. It was stalling out and making some crazy backfire noises and etc. I looked at temp gauge thinking it was over heating (it's hot and all but not that hot) and it was at about 50 degrees C.

I pulled over to take a 5 min water break and let the bike cool down thinking it would solve the issue. -- It doesn't.

It does not get any worse but it definitely did not get any better either.

I get on the freeway and am able to cruise at 120kph and get home. (no real issues on the freeway, 5th gear steady throttle, no real opportunity for it to die) Once I get there i notice the "wrench symbol" was on. I looked it up and it means "service" thanks btw super broad.