1. 2 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    WR = 2st Enduro & CR = 2st Cross

250-500cc Wr 250 engine problems! Any ideas

Discussion in '2 Stroke' started by Angles, Sep 23, 2015.

1. Angles Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    WR 250
    Gday guys I am new to the world of Husqvarna but have owned a few Jap bikes both dirt and road over the years. I fell in love with an 07 wr250 and it goes awesome as long as I can keep the water up to it on the first ride I noticed it was getting warm. On closer examination the coolant was low and the oil milky. So my first ride and first pull down. New water pump seals and a small shave of the head with new head gasket o-rings and all good I thought but it was still pressurising the radiator and pumping out coolant. next I have replaced the radiator cap (probably should have done this first) replaced the seals and bearings around the power valve and threw in a piston and ring kit while I was there since everything was within spec except the last owner must have been a bit rough in installing the rings and broke the edge off one.
    I have also installed a trail Tech speedo and can confirm that it is getting to 75deg (measured on the head at the spark plug) and then it starts to pump out coolant out of the overflow. The oil isn't milky anymore a little greyish but I am told the clutch plates can do that. I am thinking maybe there could be a crack in the head or cylinder that is opening when it warms up? What do you husky blokes reckon is this a common problem? Is there something I am missing here? There is s 99 head on evil bay which according to the parts catalogue is the same (thanks you guys have helped already) I Am thinking of trying this to cheaply eliminate the head as an issue. Any thoughts ? Thanks in advance for any help. I am told you guys know your stuff and are happy to help a newby so thanks again any help or info would be very welcome
    Angles
  2. ohmygewd Husqvarna
    Pro Class