1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

What I learned Restoring a Husky WR430 and WR250 Restoration tips

Discussion in 'Vintage Restoration Projects' started by MikeDi, May 12, 2018.

1. MikeDi Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1983 WR 430
    Other Motorcycles:
    Stuck in the 80's vintage
    I'm posting this thread for anyone in the future that may or probably will run into the same issues so feel free to add what you know. I'm no expert, i'm a hack that loves to mess with machines.
    My Husky was a total roach. it had been ridden hard for 18 years then stored basically in a barn.
    The starting point of most restos should be thought out. I mean, based on your skills and budget, don't bite off more than you can swallow.
    Anyway starting from scratch.
    • Power wash the bike, Strip off the plastics.
    • Take photos of the wiring, cable routing and anything else you will forget in 5 months.
    • Pick up a parts diagram and manual. http://hva-factory.com/catalogue
    • strip down bag and tag all parts, clean them ahead of time so they are ready to re-install or put them in a separate box for replacement
    • before removing the engine drain the oil and fill the gear box with kerosene. this will unstick and clean the inside. remove the side covers, crack loose the main gear and flywheel while the engine is in the frame.
    • remove the chain, save it so you can measure up the new one and save time. last step you're going to want to get this over with.