1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

very un stable front end

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by patgas, Oct 19, 2008.

1. patgas Husqvarna
    A Class

whent out today rear end pretty good,but forks heeeeeeeeeeeeelp set compression to about 2 turns from all way out and that feels great but when riding front seems very unstable,over rocks and when trying to ride:applause fast hav no grip,and actually lost font in a pretty spectacular way.:notworthy:
  2. DrinkBeer Husqvarna
    AA Class

I am not an expert but I love my set up. I have a TE 450 '07. Sag set to 4.5 (on the lower end I know) and have everything 5 clicks softer. rear and forks. compression and rebound. I am 210 with no gear. very happy. If you make your rear soft and leave the front alone that could cause the front to wash. Also, how you ride and where you sit on the bike.
  3. Mike Kay Husqvarna
    AA Class

Patgas i would like to help with ideas but need more infomation.

Is the sag set correctly?

How is the front end unstable? Vibrations? Shaking? To easy to turn? To hard to turn?

You mention the comression was adjusted, but what about the rebound? You have to adjust both, they effect each other.

What year and make of bike? How much do you weigh?
  4. patgas Husqvarna
    A Class

ok

13 stone 08 450 front seems very unpredictable when you start to go fast ,no grip lost it once today set compression to about 4 clicks roughly from completely soft (all way out) and wound re bound another 4 clicks on the menus from standard ,forks are right up in clamps ? heeeeeeeeeeelp really not got any confidence in it at all sorry sag is correct .
  5. Mike Kay Husqvarna
    AA Class

Im guessing either:

the rebound was set the opposite of what it should have been

-or-

something unrelated to the forks. (tire tread, pressure, wheel bearing, reversed front and rear wheel spacers-been there-or some other weird thing.)