Te630 - Exhaust Sytem Very Hot?

Discussion in '610/630' started by ede356, Mar 14, 2019.

1. ede356 Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE630
    Other Motorcycles:
    HP2 (2x); R1200GS; LC4; XT500; XT600
    Hello Folks,

About 6 months ago I bought a TE630 with approx. 6k miles.
    The bike is fun to ride on the road as well as on dirt.
    But there is one thing that I absolutely don't like:
    The exhaust system including the silencers with the heat shields are getting very, very hot and if you don't pay attention you get burned.
    I've been riding all kind of motorcycles since more than 35 years. But I have never had a bike that created that much heat.

What could cause that excessive heat?
    Has anybody the same problem?
    Is there a solution (Adjustments? Other Exhaust system? Modification of the existing exhaust, etc.) ?

I once landed on the exhaust pipes of a Husaberg.:eek:
    I still have the branding on my bud cheeks and don't what to experience melted plastic on and in my skin again.;)
  2. mekanik Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE630
    The original exhaust is very hot. Melted luggage straps I had. It is the catalytic converters that creat all the heat. I replace the entire system to a single sided muffler. Normal heat now.
  3. ede356 Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE630
    Other Motorcycles:
    HP2 (2x); R1200GS; LC4; XT500; XT600
    Mekanik,
    Thank you for your feedback.:thumbsup:

Can you give me a little bit more information about the replacement exhaust?
    Is it just the muffler or do you also have to exchange the exhaust pipes?
    What brand is it? Or where can I get it?
    Does it change the performance (less or more power)?

BTW: The previous owner of my bike must have had blue straps - as far as I can see it.:)
  4. EricV Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE630