Strada - My Way

Discussion in 'TR650' started by Jughead, May 14, 2013.

1. Jughead Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    Strada
    Other Motorcycles:
    '78 R80/7, ' 80 SR500, '81 R80/GS
    I want to start off by saying that I am average height (5’ 10”) but I am inseam challenged (29”). I am an engineer and am guilty of over analyzing just about everything I do.

This winter I discovered the Strada and fell in love with it. A few weeks ago I went to our dealer and was able to take a test ride. I liked everything about the bike except for the seat height. I had to tippy toe and would not have been comfortable riding it this way.

Not to be deterred, I set out to see what I could do to make this bike fit me. After several leads that didn’t pan out I found a website called KoubaLink.com. They manufacture lowering links for allot of products, but what caught my eye were two listings for the Husky TR650. They have a model that lowers the rear by 1.00 inch (HL650-1) and another that lowers the rear by 1.75 inch (HL650-2).

[IMG]

From looking at the photos it appeared that I could slide the fork tubes up through the triple clamps and be home free. I had layed out the suspension in CAD and had calculated how much the forks would have to move for different lowering options. To keep the bike level, the forks would have to be raised 1.947 inches to work with the 1.75 inch lowering link.

Baseline
    [IMG]
    1.00" Drop
    [IMG]
    1.75" Drop
    [IMG]

· I test rode the bike on Monday.
    · Researched the lowering options Tuesday – Wednesday.
    · Sold the idea to the better half on Thursday.
    · Ordered the 1.75 KoubaLink on Friday.
    · Bought the bike on Saturday.

After I got the bike home I discovered that the way the fork tubes are machined, the forks could only be raised about 1.19 inches. TIME OUT!

Unless my calculations are wrong, the 1.75 inch link was not going to be useable if I wanted the bike to be lowered equally front and rear.