Ktm 300 Tpi Demo

Discussion in 'Non-Husqvarna Motorcycles' started by LandofMotards, Jan 7, 2019.

1. LandofMotards Moderator

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2014 TC250
    Exit Tours (site sponsor) had a 2stroke/vintage ride day at the local offroad park. They also had a regional KTM rep that brought out his personal 2019 300 TPI. I think most everyone here gets how they handle so I'll just skip all that and talk about the motor. I'm a novice class racer but I will say that the A and B guys all thought the same of the bike. We spent a ton of time talking about it lol.

The bike pulls no matter how much you screw up. It still has that 2 stroke hit but it is smooth as hell. I think it was a little soft off the bottom, more like my sherco 250. I'd say overall, it felt somewhere between a 250 and 300. One other thing that was noticeable us when I'm on a dirt road connecting to the fun trails, the carved 2 strokes always want to let off or lurch forward, you can ride a constant throttle the whole time like a 4 stroke.

Being a 4st guy most of my life and spending the last few years on a 2st, this bike was a game changer. It has the ease of use like a 4st but not enough that you lose the 2st fun factor. Also, the first time I've ridden the new ktm based 2 strokes (17+) and that counter balanced motor is awesome! Would that be the reason I'd switch? No, but I hope every other manufacturer takes note. I never considered myself overly sensitive about vibes but it's something you notice a lot more after riding these.

If they make an XC/TX version, I'd buy one in a second.

Here's some pictures I took and one that kind of shows the terrain we were riding on.
    FB_IMG_1546878587814.jpg FB_IMG_1546878442312.jpg FB_IMG_1546878428729.jpg
    Dirtdame and robertaccio like this.
  2. robertaccio Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2021 Husqvarna TE300i
    Other Motorcycles:
    99 HusqvarnaTE610, 94 Husaberg FC501