1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

Help W/ A 1979 250 Wr

Discussion in 'Vintage/Left Kickers' started by Les Delinski, Aug 26, 2018.

1. Les Delinski Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1979 390WR
    Other Motorcycles:
    Sold the last one 5-6 years ago.
    [IMG] IMG_9091.JPG IMG_9112.JPG I'm a new member, having just "inherited" a 1979 250WR. It's in rough shape, but it's basically sound and complete. I hope to restore it to some as yet un-determined degree. I'm hoping a few folks on here have experience with this or similar models, and can answer my questions now and then; and also offer sage advice to help me avoid bonehead mistakes as this project progresses. The frame # is MM07094; and engine is 2066 - 2225. Motoplat ignition. I was a M/C mechanic for about 7 years back during the '70's bike boom. I was factory-trained for Hondas, and had some limited, long forgotten experience with Bultacos and CZs. My first questions are:
    1. Is the frame and swing arm chrome-moly? Mine needs welding/repairs.
    2. Where can I download a manual for this engine and/or bike?
    3. Is this bike a 6 speed?
    4. Is anyone familiar with the kickstarter problems inherent to this engine; and the required repairs?
    5. Are the side panels on the tank chrome, or just polished? What's the correct path toward restoring the tank? (It's rusty, but no dents)
    6. Care and cleaning of the Motoplat ignition system; and how to time it.
    Thanks in advance for your responses.

Les Delinski
  2. grouty Auto Lover ...

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    78 390WR, 78 390 AMX, 500 Humph
    Other Motorcycles:
    works 73 CCM 520, another 73 CCM520
    Looks like you have a good base for a start Les.
    #1 Yes, frame are Swedish chrome moly.
    #2 There are a few places on t'interweb to download free. There is a FB page that has them. Can't remember which one.
    #3 Yes, 6 speed.
    #4 What is the problem with the kick start ?