Help a NOOB out please - TE630

Discussion in '610/630' started by Tarsky, Aug 14, 2016.

1. Tarsky Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    TE 630
    Other Motorcycles:
    Africa Twin, Street Twin
    Per the title, I'm a noob when it comes to dirt bikes, enduros, dual sport, etc. That said, I suspect I'll get some heckling, but you never learn if you're afraid to ask questions, right?

So, I have a 2011 TE630 that I really love to ride. When I bought it, I took it to my local dealer and said "look it over and do whatever needs to be done"...again, because I don't know the first thing about these bikes. They changed all of the fluids, put new tires on it, put some parts back on that the previous owner took off for some reason and $700 later...I picked it up.

I've ridden it approximately 200 miles since then and it's performed perfectly! Today, I had my first no-speed get off and laid it down on the right side while on a really tough ravine climb. Literally, I laid it down softly. The ground was too uneven for me to continue to hold the weight of the bike up. My buddy helped me push it out of the ravine and we rode an additional 2 hours...all is well.

I put it in my trailer and took it home and when I got home, I noticed a small pool of oil under the bike. I do have a Touratech skid plate and there is no signs of any damage there, so I kept looking around the bike. On the right side of the bike, I found some oil and dirt below what I believe is the airbox. It appears that oil is seeping from the airbox, down into the skidplate and it's leaking from a corner hole in the skidplate.

So, I took off the rear side plastic and started trying to open up the airbox for inspection...