1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

Carb issue with 1982 CR250...

Discussion in 'Vintage/Left Kickers' started by Steve Kirby, Mar 13, 2018.

1. Steve Kirby Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1982 CR250
    I am new to racing old Huskys and I took the 1982 CR250 I just bought to the track this weekend and loved it! I have one issue that I need advice on - she came off line great and on top end was great - but in corners or over jumps when I left off gas - it "gurgled" like she was going to cut out. Not sure if she was starving for gas or getting too much, but it was definitely boggy. I took spark plug out today and it looks normal (bronze color) and I am running it 32:1 MC1 with non ethanol gas. The needle clip is set on top notch and air screw is 1.5 turns out but I haven't had chance yet to take carb completely off to see what size jets are in it.
    Any advice on what could be doing this? I'm assuming it is carb based issue and not the electronics breaking down when getting hot?
    I am open to suggestions and needing help - racing again in 2 weeks...

Thanks
    Steve

Attached Files:

2. justintendo klotz super techniplate junkie

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    84 250,86 400,87 430,88 250,95 360
    Other Motorcycles:
    99 kawasaki zrx 1100
    when you take down carb, make note of what size slide it has as well..if the bike pulls its best on the very top or bottom needle clip, a needle jet swap is needed

sharp looking bike too
  3. Steve Kirby Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1982 CR250
    Thank you - I will do that tomorrow- any recommendation on which needle to buy?
  4. Bigbill Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    '83 250wr
    Other Motorcycles:
    0 right now