1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

Buying a 2009, TE 450 or TE 510?

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by UncleRed, Mar 8, 2010.

1. UncleRed Husqvarna
    AA Class

I started out looking for a TE 510 because I'm a bigger is better kind a guy, But I found a deal on a 450 that comes in a $ 1000 cheaper! Is it worth a grand for the 510? or is the $$ better spent on upgrades for the 450?? Is the power up the same for the 450 vs. the 510?? I'm new to the modern Husky's, what do ya think??
  2. petem Husqvarna
    A Class

As far as I know the power-up procedure is the same for both bikes, and unlike some previous years everything you need should come with the bike on the '09s. It uses the stock exhaust rather than requiring a different one, but you remove the cat and O2 sensor, replace the restrictive air filter frame with a more open one, etc.

I'm sure you'd be very happy with either bike, but I test rode both before buying and decided that the 450 had enough power for me and was slightly easier to turn. There's not much between them though, and the 510 does have a bit more grunt low down.

Knowing what I know now, if the $1000 you save would get you the Husky special parts titanium exhaust & ECU I'd buy the 450 and fit one of those (see my review here). This makes a huge difference even if the bike was already powered-up, and I'd say the engine performance is then as good as a stock 510 but the bike is lighter than the stock 450.

Just my $0.02 - enjoy whatever you buy! :thumbsup:
  3. R_Little Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Go 450...no real difference otherwise
  4. Droolsport Husqvarna
    A Class