1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

Anyone put a Smart carb on their bike?

Discussion in 'Vintage/Left Kickers' started by stormer254, May 9, 2017.

1. stormer254 Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    More than I dare let her know
    Other Motorcycles:
    Yes!
  2. Palito Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2009 WR300, 1986 430AE Auto
    Other Motorcycles:
    1989 DR600
    I've been using the Smart Carb since 2013 exclusively on all my bikes. When I was rebuilding my 1986 430 Auto I got my first Smart Carb, I was looking for clean running carb that comes down to a nice idle immediately which is very important on the Auto. For the first two years I was swapping it back and forth with my 2009 WR300 without changing any settings, that really impressed me the most. All the claims on their web site are true. I haven't adjusted anything after the initial setup.
    The best thing it does is make the power more linear because it has only one circuit, no overlapping circuits of a conventional carb. The next best feature is that there is no popping or surging upon deceleration. Even after a long downhill with the throttle closed the whole way, even for several minutes. When you get back on the power it is right there ready and clean.

I would never go back to a regular carb EVER.

Disclaimer: on the website there is a tuning guide and starting procedure compiled by a third party that is a regular on KTMtalk, it is important to thoroughly understand and follow it, you have to forget everything you have ever learned about jetting a conventional carb. Once you do that, starting is first or second kick hot or cold, and flawless running.