1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

'86 wr400

Discussion in 'Vintage Restoration Projects' started by jonnyl, Dec 20, 2015.

1. jonnyl Husqvarna
    A Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    wr400
    Other Motorcycles:
    A few
    Hi, a newbie here! Love the forum, very informative.I have a question. Been offered a '86 wr400 in bits. Engine rebuild with new piston,sleeve and clutch/waterpump casing about 10 yrs ago then put into storage (roof space/attic). Chassis and bodywork rough.No v5/ logbook but number plate there, frame and engine number prensent. What i'm struggling with is the value of it and what to do with it when i buy it. I'm tempted just to get it going scruffy as it to ride it around (want a rider, not a bike i'm afraid of getting dirty) What do people reckon? Thanks in advance.
  2. jimspac Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    82 250WR, 82 430WR, 84 250WR, 85 400
    Other Motorcycles:
    86 400WR, 82 Montesa Cota 349
    That sounds like a good plan. You will want to do a leakdown test on the engine as the crank seals may be questionable after an engine has been out of service for that period of time. You should ensure that you only use premix coolant from a dealer or aluminum safe coolant mixed with deionized water. As far as current value if it is complete and suspension is in serviceable condition in America you could spend around $1000, Also if you need to purchase missing components you will see your investment into it rise dramatically.
  3. usedtobefast Husqvarna
    AA Class

What do you mean "in bits"? Is it apart? As in, not fully together? If it is really nice, but apart, I wouldn't spend more than $500. If it is rusty and in parts, geez, $200-$300ish. Seems like a decent running one is $1000-$1200.