1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

78 390 Auto Exhaust Question

Discussion in 'Vintage Restoration Projects' started by nick2412, Feb 24, 2019.

1. nick2412 Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1978 390 auto
    I am looking for a more modern exhaust pipe and silencer to reduce how loud the bike is. Do i need to bend a different models pipe. I know this effects the power but im riding it to work and the neighborhood wants to pull me by my neck behind their prius's. I am a super novice and so any help is good help. Also any other tips for noise . I herd about rubber between the fins but i cant find a resource to buy them. Thanks
  2. 390wr Jon Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1980 Husqvarna 390WR
    Other Motorcycles:
    1979 BMW R100RS
    Comet Kart Sales have rubber fin inserts. Here is the link: https://cometkartsales.com/Yamaha-Head-and-Cylinder-Parts/

I used them on my 1980 390 WR and they fit fine (I bought my 390 WR new and they came with them from the factory). The Comet Kart rubber insert width and fin spacing was the same as my original rubbers.

The only thing is the Comet Kart rubber inserts are not as deep as the originals (in other words, they don't go it the cyclinder fins as deep as the originals). They would probably not come out, but to be safe I put a couple of dots of 3M black 5200 to make sure they didn't go anywhere.

I do believe the rubber inserts cut down on cyclinder noise/ ring.

Also , I had a 1974 400WR back in the day and if my memory serves me right it did not have the rubber inserts. However, I cut legths of black rubber fuel line and inserted it between the fins. It worked well, but did not look as nice a the rubber inserts.

Hope this helps.
  3. nick2412 Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1978 390 auto
    will a 80 400 model expansion chamber fit a 78? or any other later years with little modification?
  4. Crashaholic Husqvarna
    Pro Class