1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

76 WR360 tranny issue.

Discussion in 'Vintage/Left Kickers' started by martinfan30, Dec 17, 2008.

1. martinfan30 Husqvarna
    B Class

Hey guys, Just helping my dad out a bit.

He has restored this bike which I rode as a kid, and is having a trans. issue.

It is locked up in any gear but fourth (direct drive).

I am a long time Toyota tech and have rebuilt many manual transmissions. I just wonder if there is any semi common problem when reassembling these gear boxes that cause problems.

Haven't looked at it yet, but I know things as simple as a gear installed backwards, or a detent missing can cause problems.

Thanks for any tips!
  2. Coffee CH Owner

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2006 TE250, 2013 TR650 Terra - sold
    Welcome Martin, it might take a couple of days but someone will probably help out.

:cheers:
  3. martinfan30 Husqvarna
    B Class

OK, cool. Thanks Dean.

I know you are used to the "Spaghetti Husky's".

No one is perfect....

:lol:
  4. dartyppyt Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    17 TE 150, 82CR 500
    Other Motorcycles:
    82 125,250,430&500 79 390 83 250
    Couple of things to check for, because years ago, I had one of these trannys that did the very same thing. It took forever to find the issue.

1.) Make sure that you get a blow up of the whole tranny (Schematic), spacers, clips, etc..... Has to be re- assembled to the T. If one gear was put in reversed, switched, etc.... you will have this problem.

2.) Make sure that none of the shafts got bent from a gear riding up on its mating gear. Use a dial indicater in a v - block. Mine was off a couple off just .000 (Can't remember how many .000) and was the whole problem. It took forever to figure out the problem.

3.) Make sure that your shift forks and cogs are not bent or have wear indents in them.