610 SM skid plate, info needed.

Discussion in '610/630' started by husky4cc, Sep 17, 2014.

1. husky4cc Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2008 610 SM
    Other Motorcycles:
    ZX 14, 999 s
    Hello Members:
    I am a newbie, just bought a 2008 SM 610 motard. I bought my bike over the weekend from a forum member. Love the bike and want to add a few things. Comtemplating adding a skidplate for added protection and looks, will this add much weight or effect the cooling of engine ? Mostly road riding and maybe 1% fire trails. Don't want to spend a lot on skidplate, any recommendations or if other Husky model plates would fit my bike ? Found a TE 610 skidplate but not sure if it will fit. Any input is much appreciated ! Thanks Charles
  2. husky4cc Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2008 610 SM
    Other Motorcycles:
    ZX 14, 999 s
    Came across Ricochet skid plates. Mike is awesome guy and makes very high quality skid plates for only $ 100, getting mine in anodized gold. Thanks
  3. Borgschulze Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2007 TE 610
    Other Motorcycles:
    2004 Yamaha WR450
    SM and TE models are exactly the same, minus the wheels and headlight, and slightly different suspension setup.
  4. RDTCU Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    '11 630SMS
    I love my Hyde Racing poly skid plate, it weighs nothing and doesn't reflect nearly as much noise as an aluminum plate, but will keep rocks off the engine and save the side cases in a slide. (I've tested this...) Same plate for the 610 and 630.

[IMG]
  5. Borgschulze Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2007 TE 610
    Other Motorcycles:
    2004 Yamaha WR450
    Is it easy to install?

Mines a huge PITA.
  6. RDTCU Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    '11 630SMS
    The Hyde? Once you get the rear crossbar in place, the hardest part is done. There's a little trick to it at just the right angle and it goes right in.