1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

2013 TXC 250 starts cold, stalls hot, then won't start.

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by durtkillon, May 11, 2017.

1. durtkillon Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2013 Husqvarna TXC250
    Other Motorcycles:
    2013 Sherco X-Ride
    Hey guys. I need some help. I'm new to this bike and don't have much history. I purchased it from a mechanic who was selling it for a third party. He told me it had a high temp cut out, but it was resolved when he changed the engine temp sensor. He said he also checked the valves and said they were bang on - no changes required.

It seems to start fine, but the battery seemed weak. It would turn the start unless I topped off the battery with a trickle. I replaced the battery and now it starts fine, but it REALLY struggles to turn the motor over if it's at times. Seems like it's fighting really high compression. Still, it turns starts cold and sounds great.

After i ride around the block and the bike gets to temp, it stalls. Then it's impossible to start. It turns over, but no fire. Let it cool five minutes and starts right back up, but stalls within seconds.

I replace the plug and found the gas was the color of a good IPA. I dumped the gas and put fresh stuff in with a bottle of injector cleaner. No change. Same symptoms. Starts cold, runs fine for 5-10 mins, then when the idle drops, it stalls and is hard to start. I can keep it running with more throttle, so it's not a "cut out", but rather a stall. Like its a timing or fuel management issue.

I called the KTM Husky dealer. They said they will order parts, but will not service the bike. I called the BMW dealer (former red head dealer) and they said they stopped servicing the bikes and don't order parts.