2009 TE 250 Problem

Discussion in 'General (Main)' started by lil_mouse, Jun 27, 2016.

1. lil_mouse Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2009 TE 250
    8000B0369.jpg
    So, I couldn't find anything on the problem here, if there is and I didn't see it I apologize.

I am new to the site, my name is Christian and I am also new to riding in general. So, please excuse my newbieness.

I financed a 2009 TE 250 less than a month ago and started making this strange metalic clanking noise a few days ago. It also started to say FAIL, when I started it up. So, I ran some sea foam through it and that helped with it saying FAIL.

However, it did not help with the "clanking" noise. While I was riding down the road yesterday it made a strange sputter noise and than cut off on me( it had gas and oil). I pulled off into a big 5 parking lot and noticed the engine was covered in oil/ coolant. When I turned the engine over, part #22 from the pic above would move up/down and spit out oil and coolant? I have no clue whats wrong and was curious if anyone on here might now? Honestly anything would help.

Not sure if it makes a difference but when I disconnected the hose from the engine a lot of coolant came flooding out.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

Attached Files:

2. hhdwtmtw He who dies with the most toys wins...

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    '14 TE300, '11 TE449, '10 TE250
    Other Motorcycles:
    Royal Enfield Continental GT 650
    Part 22 is the cylinder head cover. It shouldn't move up and down. Remove the cover and see what has happened underneath. It's possible you have a blown head gasket or something has broken and cracked the head causing coolant to leak. I would also check the engine oil to see if it is contaminated with coolant. Clanking noises are not a good sign. I would take the bike to a knowledgeable mechanic to check it out before trying to start the engine again.
  3. lil_mouse Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2009 TE 250