1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

2008 smr450 engine failure

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by danfabb7255, Feb 23, 2015.

1. danfabb7255 Husqvarna
    B Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2008 SMR450
    Hey guys. My 08 smr450 crapped out at the end of last summer. Haven't touch it yet but since the warm weather is coming I want to get this thing rocking and rolling again. The bike stalled out while going about 15 mph and only thing I know is I pulled out the spark plug and the end was crushed. What does that usually mean? I'm no mechanic. And if the engine is too gone to rebuild where can I get a 08 smr 450 motor on the United states east coast that's not crazy expensive lol any help is much appreciated!
  2. ghte Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2 x 310's, 2016 Beta 480, SWM RS650
    Other Motorcycles:
    2016 Multi ,Griso1100, Monster695
    First put it on a stand, leave the plug out, put it in gear and see if it will crank over by hand (slowly) by turning the rear wheel. Listen for any unusual mechanical noise or resistance.
    That will give you an indication if the engine has major issues.
    I would then take the head off and inspect the valves and piston.
    I would think unless the whole shebang is stuffed then a minor rebuild would be cheaper than a replacement engine.
  3. Guoseph Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    FE501S
    Other Motorcycles:
    Honda VFR800, KTM 525 EXC
    drain the oil and see how much metal comes out. You can also take off the exhaust and intake and have a peek inside to see if you see metal bits hanging about. agree with above, first see if the engine will turn over (slowly!). Never know what truly happened until you start opening it up. If there's significant damage the cost of repairs (especially if you aren't doing it yourself) can easily exceed the cost of a used engine (assuming you can find one).