1. 4 Stroke Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Italy - About 1989 to 2014
    TE = 4st Enduro & TC = 4st Cross

2004 TE250 seizure advice needed

Discussion in '4 Stroke' started by Creecha, Aug 30, 2015.

1. Creecha Husqvarna

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    2005 Te250
    I'm new to the Cafe and found it online looking for the best place to find info on Husky's.

I've got a TE250 thats not happy and I'd really like to make it really really happy.

Several years ago it seized up on me and as I was leaving the country I put it in a shed and almost forgot about it. One of my trips back to New Zealand I gave it to a friend who rides to see if it was a quick fix for him to ride while I was away, he got it going and as soon as it warmed up it would just seize.
    He immediately went to change the oil and out came quite a few metal filings.

I'm not a mechanic but I don't shy away from a challenge. I've got the time and space to work on it as a project so I'm going to go for it.

What I'm hoping for is any advice/speculation on what could be the problem otherwise I'm just going to start taking it apart and see what I find.

Thanks for reading this if you have made it this far, any help would be much appreciated and I can't to get back on the trails :)

Attached Files:

2. ray_ray Mini-Sponsor

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    08\013 WR250, 010 TC250, 012 TC250
    Could be numerous things but was the engine making any noises before it would seize? Connecting rods might make a knocking noise ...Not sure what the rings and barrel do as far as shedding metal ... Mains are there somewhere.

Tear into it and just start looking ...

--
    I've got an 010 TC250 with an oilfilter filled with metal ... I'm guessing mine are the mains but gotta look inside ... No seizing, just loud engine sound when running ...
  3. rancher1 Husqvarna
    Pro Class

A 2004 could be having valve issues as well, that was the year of bad valves.
  4. Miezie666 Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    none