1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

1988 400WR?

Discussion in 'Vintage/Left Kickers' started by ajcmbrown, Jul 19, 2015.

1. ajcmbrown Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    400WR 250WR 07 WR500 430AE 360AE
    Other Motorcycles:
    1985 500CR Ducati Multistrada 1200S
    Hi all, noob here, I thought this would be a great way to introduce myself and also tap into the collective knowledge of this forum.

I have just acquired a 1988 Husqvarna 400WR (it was supposed to be a '86 but that's another story), but I don't see much information on 400's in this production year.
    The closest I have found so far is 430WR models, could this be an 1987 built bike that was sold new here in Australia in 1988? It has an Australian compliance plate date of 02/88.
    The frame number is 3T 000846 and it is hard to tell the difference between the '87 and 88 models, is there an easy way to pick them apart?
    I need to replace most of the plastics, rebuild the rear shock and replace the fork seals, but on the bright side, it has a freshly recovered seat, two new tyres and receipts for around $2500 worth of engine components/work.
    The previous owner didn't know how to correctly fit the gear shift return spring so it wouldn't select gears, and the kick starter would not engage due to incorrect fitting of the pawl plate/spring.

You can see the heads of the countersunk allen screws have been ground down, what a b1#@h it was getting them out! Once I had them out I noticed that one of the 6mm threads in the clutch cover has been enlarged to 8mm, so there is evidence of some less than professional work in the past.
    When looking at the parts catalogue, there are two small spacers that are meant to sit underneath that plate, but they were not fitted on mine, which is the cause of the issue.