1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

1983 wr 250 gearbox oil?

Discussion in 'Vintage/Left Kickers' started by fe600racer, Jan 15, 2020.

1. fe600racer Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    250 wr
    Other Motorcycles:
    husaberg
    I was wondering if there are better oils now for my 83 gearbox instead of the SAE 20 per the manual?
  2. grouty Auto Lover ...

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    78 390WR, 78 390 AMX, 500 Humph
    Other Motorcycles:
    works 73 CCM 520, another 73 CCM520
    Yes, there is. Without wishing to open yet another oil debate ....
    I have been using Silkolene Medium Gear Oil for the last 35 years, and I've never had a gearbox or clutch issue.
    Everyone has their favorite.
  3. moto_surfer Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1981 430XC/ Silver Streak/TE300
    I like a hybrid mix of 300ml. Coconut oil, 900ml. 90 wt. Royal Purple, & 400ml. KY lubricant =1600ml. But I hear a lot of guys swear by ATF type F
    stormer254 and wrx like this.
  4. wrx Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1973 to 1986 husky's various models
    Other Motorcycles:
    RM -250 / Buell / Penton 400 mc5
    SPECTRO golden gear. 80w
  5. fe600racer Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    250 wr
    Other Motorcycles:
    husaberg
    Thanks. I have heard also that atf is used in the gearboxes.....I recall ATF in forks but is ATF a bit light for gearbox?
  6. markt2 Husqvarna
    AA Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1976 250CR (times 2)
    Other Motorcycles:
    Several vintage Yamahas