1. Husqvarna Motorcycles Made In Sweden - About 1988 and older

1978 cr250 street tracker

Discussion in 'Vintage Restoration Projects' started by samp615, Apr 10, 2012.

1. samp615 Husqvarna
    C Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1976 wr250
    Other Motorcycles:
    klr650, honda passport, gs1100
    Inspired by the old trackers, I play on taking my bike:
    [IMG]

And turning it into a tracker, inspired by these:

[IMG]
    [IMG]

This is my first build. I do not plan on doing any chopping at all, out of respect to the husky. Here's the plan:

Tear down
    repaint frame, rims, trees, fork lowers
    new tires, possibly some from coker
    lower front forks (hard part for me)
    lower back, possibly have to buy new shocks (hard part for me)
    new handlebars, speedo, kill switch, headlight
    Possibly build new seat

I will leave the tank as is. I like the patina. I hopefully will keep the cables and just clean them up. Hopefully I will just have to fix up the breaks and not buy new ones. I am unsure about the seat but that will be last.

Does anyone have any advice on lowering the bike?

Feel free to chime in and give me some constructive criticism.

I want the bike to be functional and have a timeless look. I am on a budget, so hopefully I can do everything under $100. The tires may be the most costly. If I work real hard I bet I can do it for 500.
  2. dartyppyt Husqvarna
    Pro Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    17 TE 150, 82CR 500
    Other Motorcycles:
    82 125,250,430&500 79 390 83 250
    Sounds good! You can get suspension shops to go in and make spacers to lower it.
  3. samp615 Husqvarna
    C Class

Husqvarna Motorcycle:
    1976 wr250
    Other Motorcycles:
    Day 1

Had a solid 4 hours today between class to start the tear down. I do not have a garage or shop so thankfully it was sunny.

First thing I did was print out the entire part list and pinned them to a bulletin board so I can bag every screw with the correct number.

[IMG]